Landmarks

Salford,30th June 2017

Hi folks.

The prompt for today’s post comes from a strange source – in that its not technological at all – it’s the humble letterbox.

Aside from my scribbles – and photography – I am a keen philatelist – or stamp collector.

There’s a reason for this – the pictures give me a source of inspiration in my own writing and photography, and the information contained within give me impetus to explore the world around me.

To avoid the fidgety nature of hanging the mini pics in an album – I get first day covers, which have an added bonus of having a cancellation (or postmark) with a connection to the subject matter.

Todays missive, however – brought a smile to my face

The forthcoming issue – Landmark Buildings has a stamp subject I’ve become very familiar with over the past few years

Iwm Waterside

Yes, the iconic branch of the Imperial War Museum in the North, where I help out as a volunteer, has found its way onto a Royal Mail First Day Cover.

It joins other iconic landmarks such as the Everyman theatre in nearby Liverpool and the National Assembly for Wales in Cardiff.

 

Leave a Reply

