Composition of a painting

Salford, 7th March 2017

Cerulean (2)

The drawing originated from the last family holiday we had in Oludeniz, in Turkey.

I took my notepad and pencils with me to do some scribbling when i got bored of taking camera shots with my Samsung web camera.

Just by the complex we were staying in were the remains of some roman buildings.  The temple part remained intact in the centre of the city, but i was given the opportunity to take a drawing of the ruins nearby…a path between the complex and the beach ran right past the ruin.

so, i found the perfect place to sit…someplace i could see the plants, the sea and the stonework, and started drawing.

and whilst drawing, I drew quite a crowd…even if it was the lizards who lived around the Roman Ruins.

Upon landing back home at Manchester Airport….I picked up my watercolor pad and drew a copy of the scribbled drawing from my notepad

I used vermillion and burnt umber for the far away stones, and yellow ochre for the bricks nearest to me.  To create the bushes on the path, i used sep green, and the centre of the painting was filled in with shades of cerelean blue.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

