Clumsy

Clumsy

Salford 26th October, 2016

Reeto, folks…I’ve got a confession to make.

people say to me , you’re clumsy….

When I was younger – I used to take this to heart, i’d fall over, trip up, drop stuff and have to replace it – and worst of all – i’d bump into people and things – a lot.

However – when you’ve got a shunt in your head that’s keeping you going – to treat Hydrocephalus – you tend to accept the stuff you’ve been landed with.  A recent revisit to the neuro ward at Hope Hospital in Salford (Manchester, UK) brought this into sharp focus recently.

And to those who say I’m clumsy – I have the brightest retort – I can live with it quite happily.  I might seem a bit slow, but my minds one of the sharpest in the room.  I’ve played cards with the reaper three (or four?) times now and each time I’ve won (even though, the first occasion – i’m too old to remember it)

If they took the time to think about it – and swapped shoes with me for a day or a week – the detractors would soon think differently.

Focus and concentration and in some cases memory have to be trained after a spell in surgery.

That fine vase that’s in the living room?  you want it moving? i’ll be able to do it – but don’t expect  speedy delivery unless you fancy a jigsaw puzzle…I can give you accuracy, and speed – just not at the same time.

What’s more folks – its getting better – and i’m managing the hazards. Each hurdle has its different challenges, but my volunteer work has seen me doing a number of events – and all unscathed – you’ll be pleased to hear…

and on occasion – i’ll write about it.

Oh and that computer you’re reading this blog on – I can identify the faults on it like a zen master.  Again – If there’s a problem I can fix I’ll do it.  But I’ll also be able to tell the guy on the other bench with the fiddly soldering iron what the problem is too…

So on a day to day basis whether its working at the war museum or athletic stadium – I just take my time – watch my steps – break down the jobs I’ve been given – manage what i’m doing, refer to the aides and help I have – and (last, but certainly not least) look out for those pesky obstacles  – including the cracks in the pavement.

and all with a smile.

Cracks in the pavement

Leave a Reply

