Taking a biscuit for a paddle

cup-of-hot-chocolate

When the weather is particularly choppy,  I like to sit down in a nice comfy chair and enjoy a biscuit with a cup of hot chocolate.  It reminds me a little of my youth, when I used to enjoy a cup with my little sister before bedtime.  We still share the same enjoyment of the tasty warm cocoa drink, but now we share it with family and friends,  in particular … my two nephews who like it as a treat just before their nanna and granddad tuck them into bed when they are visiting

The hot chocolate shop has many different flavours to go at.  In the beginning, I’d go for the standard, no messing about, hot chocolate..70% Cocoa – Deep Chocolate Flavour.  It would last me for two to three months, due to the size of the tin it was in.  But since then, I’ve been introduced to a smorgasbord of chocolate flavours, everything from cherry to Rocky road (it’s got marshmallows in it) and orange to mint…most recently the creme brulee has had an outing…and I’ve really enjoyed it’s flavours of vanilla and caramel…when the nephews are coming round they like this too…but they also like the minted chocolate…that’s their favourite

Of course I sometimes enjoy a biscuit with my cocoa.  So if I’m in the mood i will get a bag of cookies from the local supermarket…just as good as the ones you get from the coffee establishments…but cheap as chips if you happen to be passing the bakery section at just the right moment….at the moment I like the coconut based cookies…really soft and squishy…but lovely in a cup of orangey chocolate.

When I’m out with friends we often hit a particular well known cafe,  the flavours might be limited but the number of flavoured syrups you can add more than makes up for it…it’s the place where I was introduced to minted hot chocolate, and I suppose you could say I got my love of the dark brown liquid gold.

Well, that’s enough from me,  I’m going to get an early night , Taking a leaf from my Memory Workshop class which awaits in tomorrow afternoon…but before I do,

I’m going to take a biscuit for a paddle…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

