My Notebooks

Salford, 9th August 2016

DSC00784.JPG

I see them as a fine artist sees a piece of canvas.

Decorated, Labelled and in different colours

I take one around with me wherever I go – depending on weather conditions i’ll use my trusty Parker pen to scribble down my thoughts or a standard run of the mill pencil

If its something that needs my full attention – then fireworks appear – in the form of Luminous colours from a highlighter pen and ticks and asterisks appear if its something I want to share on this blog – or if its something I want to turn more permanent – the scribble gets torn out of the notebook and stored in my Art Materials box.  It gets joined with a plan scribble as to what colours i’m going to use, whether or not I use pastel, ink, or paint…and how i’ll approach putting what I captured on camera to my art collection.

Something captures my eye – i’ll write my initial thoughts … plan out what i’m drawing and/or take notes at what’s happening…see it as seeds falling on composted soil

Eventually – something grows

The power of the pencil and paper is immense – ideas for poetry can come out of drawings – articles for blogs on this very website – come from a doodle made on a park bench.

 

One thought on “My Notebooks

Leave a Reply

