Scribbles in Notebooks

Pens and Pencils

Salford , 18th July 2016

“Just a humble little scribble from my notebooks”

I like writing and drawing, and though i’ll never be the next big thing when it comes to these artforms – I still find them helpful in my never ending mission to concentrate the mind.

 

Roman Ruins 2, Oledeniz
Pen Drawing, Roman Ruins, Oledeniz, Turkey

 

Whenever i’m off somewhere nowadays – I take my kit of supplies with me – notebook (A5) , pencils and paper, Bridge Camera, SD Cards, travel card , cash and not forgetting – supplies for lunch.

I get to my intended destination – I’ll have my lunch, find a suitable vantage point and begin recording what I see.  Sometimes – it’ll be a poem or verse, and others – it’ll be a photo or a drawing.  The inspiration comes from what I see.   The process, concentrates the mind.  As the basic forms take shape on the page – either in word, or in drawing – ideas come alive on the page

Roman Wall & Sheep_Painting
Impressionist painting of the Roman Wall, Castlefield, Manchester (c) Brian F Kirkham 2015

When I get home – I’ll play around with the scribbles and drawings.  Thanks to my laptop I now have two marvellous sets of tools to turn my images into artworks – I principally use Adobe photoshop elements, but also use Corel’s Painter Essentials suite for its wide range of brushes.

Of course, if I want to use the time to concentrate – the computer gets switched off – the box of paints comes out and i’ll put something together from my notebook drawings onto my painting pad in Coloured pencil, pastels, watercolours or even oils

 

Paintingiwm
Painting of IWM North, Brian F Kirkham, Salford 2015

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Scribbles in Notebooks

  1. Sue Ranscht 19 Jul 2016 / 1:48 am

    Artistic pursuits are an excellent way to keep the brain nimble. Seeing light and shadow, shapes and lines, instead of buildings and trees stimulates parts of the brain that aren’t stimulated by language. Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

