The road cones lament

#Blogging101 #Napowrimo #Day16 #Almanac poem

Hi readers!  Today’s Almanac challenge on Naprowrimo.net has given me the perfect opportunity to pull out of my notebook box, a character piece set in Manchester’s Piccadilly Gardens…during the time of recent anti-austerity protests.

(A tale not told of any human, but a road-cone!!!)

The Road Cone’s Lament

It’s really windy today!

I feel so cold

Autumn’s leaves below me

in red , brown and gold

 

And here I sit here, today –

up high in the air

on a nobleman’s head

does anyone care

 

I’m supposed to protect people

round the holes I can see

but those public around

are now staring – at me!

 

As I’ve turned the enobled

into a figure of ‘fun’

would the builders who left me

know just what they’ve begun ?

 

The people who lifted me

having taken their chance

now sing round the marble

as they wave and they dance

 

And those men of importance

pass by with a glare

As I wobble on the statue

in the cold air

Leave a Reply

