Sentimentals

in response to the daily post prompt : https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sentimental/

I’ve just been watching a story of an elderly woman on BBC News who has been ordered to clear up her housing association flat.

She robustly refused to comply with the order – saying her life was in those items around her.  And when I look on my shelves around me – I can see where she was coming from.

What’s more I’m beginning to empathise with her…

My bookshelves are teaming with books from past and present, Baden-Powell’s book “Scouting for Boys” shares a space with the Tales of the Willows and Winnie the Pooh.

A Mug Tree holds ceramics from the Warner Brothers Studio Store, and bits and bobs from camping trips and events I’ve volunteered at in Manchester are dotted around the place

Commonwealth Games …. Various Sporting Contests….Olympic Football Competitions…

Books from Childhood, DVDs of Classic Films, Snowglobes and pottery animals.  The cupboard by my bed is filling up with pottery turtles – One’s from the Sea Life Centre in Manchester, another is from a recent trip to Turkey, whilst the third comes from a trip to one of the Greek Islands

Each item has in it its own little tale of how it landed In my room, and much like the lady in the news story – if it were down to me – I couldn’t throw them away.

 

Leave a Reply

