Narrowboat

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire, 26th February 2016

I Went on an excursion with some of the lads from Manchester’s IWM North today to the National Waterways Museum at Ellesmere Port in Cheshire, where I learned about the canals and their heritage.  The journey involved a brief stop for provisions at the M56 Motorway Services.

I took along my DSC-H300 too – in order to take a few pictures to remind me of the day

There were several Interesting pieces on the Manchester Ship canal which we left to make our way to the museum, including items from the Dock Office as well as pictures and models of the boats.

After seeing some wonderful artefacts, I enjoyed a lovely cup of tea in the café to go with my packed lunch, before going on a fact filled trip on a Narrowboat down the Shropshire Union canal.

 

 

DSC00425.JPG
Nigel and Bill – Stand to Attention!

 

DSC00427-2.JPG
National waterways museum, Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
5 thoughts on “Narrowboat

  1. GeorgieMoon 26 Feb 2016 / 10:00 pm

    How lovely! I love narrow boats. Just been watching a tv programme on how they built the canals around Birmingham.

    Liked by 1 person

    • inkdropk 26 Feb 2016 / 10:34 pm

      Well, I really enjoyed the trip to Ellesmere port Georgie – Great Exhibits and the Narrowboat ride, where we travelled under the various bridges was a wonderful experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tania 27 Feb 2016 / 9:23 am

    I’ve been on a few narrowboat holidays, great fun and hugely relaxing. I’m not a photographer but I think there are lots of opportunities for great photos on that kind of trip, plus the engineering and history side is very interesting too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • inkdropk 27 Feb 2016 / 10:49 am

      Many thanks for reading Tania. Plenty more stuff on my profile so feel free to take a look

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

