Obsession

A piece of poetry written for the Forward Poetry Anthology Poetry Obsessions,

 

I’ll write you a million poems,

I’ll right you a million wrongs

I’ll send you a million love letters

I’ll sing you a million songs.

 

In that moment, we’d met in that twilight room

You lifted my spirits in the gloom.

You looked at me different – than the other girls did

and were a really good date for a couple o’ quid

 

I’d been sat in that hall, listening to the groove –

when up you stood, and made your first move

and as you moved those beautiful eyes

you took me quite by surprise

 

We grasped the nettle – Our gazes Fixed

And with arms around each other we mixed

Holding each other, with a loving glance

Moving to the centre, as they all watched us dance

 

But now that dates over – was it all a dream

It seems that really you weren’t all that keen

but your words of love hit me – and you’re inside my head

and I hear every word – and footstep you tread.

 

Leave a Reply

