I must go down to the sea….

In response to the daily post challenge –

Quote Me

Sailboats, Ontario Basin, Salford Quays (BFK 2016)

I must go down to the sea again

the lonely sea and sky

I left my socks and shoes there

I Wonder if they’re dry ?

I Must Go Down To The Sea Again Poem by Spike Milligan

Spike Milligan created this poem from an original piece called “Sea Fever” by John Masefield.  “Sea Fever” is all about being out at sea.  Whereas Spike’s take on the poem brings memories of playing on the Northern seafront at Blackpool or Morecambe, when we used to go to the seaside at weekends.

20120617-150021.jpg

I was fortunate to actually go on an Ocean going craft when in 1996 – just after I graduated with an HND from Manchester Metropolitan University – as a member of the crew of the Greater Manchester Challenge (pictured) that year. We travelled around the Irish sea – starting at the North wales port of Port Dinorwic and visiting the Isle of Man and Northern Ireland before landing back in North Wales at Holyhead.  In total the crew of seven travelled 253 Nautical Miles and crossed the seas in a Maximum wind of Force 7.

Leave a Reply

