(Spiders) Web

I took this picture in BASICs “Enchanted” Garden, with my new Bridge Camera.  The Spider in question was obviously camera-shy, given it was there a few moments before I got my camera out of its bag.  Nevertheless, s/he left me with a lovely web – weaved between the arms of the brackets of one of the planters.

A spider visited the house one day,
She wanted me to come out and play.
scampering round in the hall
and up and down the mirrors and walls.

So out of the door I did go
She scampered off fast, as I went slow
and heading for the nearest tree
looking for something for her tea

At first I thought, the fence she’d cleared
but then in an instant – she reappeared
hanging her threads from the nearest tree
it looked like fine embroidery.

And then on a branch, I watched her wait
for something to catch and put on her plate
a swarm of flies through the sky
and towards the middle of the web they did fly

So as I sat, enjoying a treat,
The spider sat central in her web to eat
eating a few bugs, without little haste
and wrapping the rest up so they wouldn’t go to waste!

Categories Animals, Garden, Nature, Photography, PoetryTags , , , ,

3 thoughts on “(Spiders) Web

  1. Your poem and picture are living in a symbiotic web 😀 thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers for taking a look Moonskittles! Appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was fun my friend! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close