China Town

Chinese Arch Manchester

Because of my love of Chinese Cuisine – I love Chinatown.  It’s the home to the majority of Manchester’s Chinese community and its vibrant and colourful.

I used to pass through Chinatown during my time at the local University, whilst I studied for my HND in I.T, and occasionally popped in to a pastry shop.  I can say without fear of contradiction – The smells are Heavenly.

During Chinese New Year, the streets of Chinatown are buzzing with excitement as the Chinese community celebrate a new year of the Chinese horoscope and a Good Luck Dragon parades around the streets.

The popularity of Manchester’s Chinatown was brought to my attention on a family holiday to Cyprus…when asked where we lived – astonished – the waiter acclaimed “And you’ve come here…for Chinese Food ?!?”

He wasn’t wrong.

During a recent visit to a Chinese restaurant in town – We passed the Oriental Gate and enjoyed a meal at the New Oriental.  There were over 200 dishes on the menu – everything from soups and rice dishes to meat and fish

I enjoyed the barbecued beef and pork – cooked in oriental spices and served in a luscious sticky sauce.  You could eat it with noodles or with pancakes – I plumped for both (and it was delicious!).  The Dim sum was equally delicious – you could fill up on the number of dishes they had out on show in that part alone.

One thought on “China Town

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

