My Treasured Possessions

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Pride and Joy.”

This one is a bit of a tough question to ponder, over the years i’ve collected a number of certificates to do with either Education and Training – leading eventually to the award of a HND from Manchester Metropolitan University.  I went through the Graduation Ceremony and the picture for a time hung happily in the lounge in the family home.

but as much effort i put in – that wasn’t my most cherished possessions

DSC_0002[1]DSC_0004[1]

Those would have to be the Medal and Certificate issued to me during Manchester’s Commonwealth Games (working in Technology) and the Relay Baton and Certificate issued to me during the London Olympic and Paralympic Games, where i was involved in Manchester in a number of roles,  From helping run the crew room as a steward during the Olympic Football Competition to helping the Aussie Olympic Team in their Training.  During the Paralympics – I was at Manchester University helping organise the team assisting the Brazil Paralympic Squad – Namely the Sitting Volleyball Team and the Wheelchair Basketball Team.

DSCF1772

The staff were really glad to have me on board – I’d had prior knowledge of both sports during my volunteering at the IPC Paralympic world cup, an official Paralympic competition held in the run up to London hosting the Paralympic Games – I helped set up the courts at the training venue and briefed the squads on their duties

For my efforts i recieved a certificate and a baton – and thanks from both sets of athletes.

Leave a Reply

