Opportunity Missed

The girl that I had eyed all year
from out of nowhere – she appeared
catching me quite unawares
on the school hallway stairs

My head was straight
I couldn’t be late –
but could I let this moment pass
as I made my way to class

She and I exchanged a glance
but alas – no chance – of romance
as she smiled and passed me by
and her auburn hair did turn and fly

And so I had to wait around a while
to see the girl with the gorgeous smile
the moment gone – opportunity missed
for the girl I loved to be kissed

Leave a Reply

