A Strawberry Vignette

Another silver winner – a tale of a strawberry – enjoy!

I

I started life,
all green, not red
I was difficult to find
amongst the pansies
mistaken for leaves.
Gardening Folk,
smiled at me.

II

I grew in the warmth
of a summer sun
My colour changed
a brilliant red.
Signals for gardeners
time for the picking

III

I was thrown in a basket
and headed for the coast
whilst others saw pans
and ended on toast
or in cases as tartlets
a tasty bake

IV

Resplendent, Rich and Red
taken from my soily bed
washed and dressed, in dairy cream
a treat at wimbledon
a strawberries dream

V

Whilst others picked on the day
went another confectionery way
they ended up in sugar & cream
too pleasing, but alas
ended up – in a place that is freezing!

Leave a Reply

