Broken Biscuits & Jigsaw Puzzles

A poem I wrote for the People with Disabilities group on Allpoetry.com

Thought i’d share it here

They saved me from that watery end
and patchy memories that would send
this humble poet, up the creek
a simple solution i would seek

Memories laid, now they would hide
in a dark place, residing inside
but with careful aid, and trained eye
I recalled the puzzles that passed me by

Balance, a common problem to me
identified when I were three
and Inturned feet were a hint
to doctors who put me in splints

And pieces of puzzles, sometimes didn’t fit
so down on a chair , i would sit
and talked to the man with letters after name
till i could manage to work out the game

I’d master the cracks in th’pavement (and stairs)
Visiting the quacks for running repairs
and learning new things, i’d take my time
Mastering concepts, rhythm and rhyme

Trips to the hospital , every week
Physios practicing their technique
OTs giving pencil grips
and handing out writing tips

Doing things, helped a lot
Art, craft and writing joined the dots
and changing the goalposts, i patched up the holes
as i set myself some brand new goals.

Handling schoolwork – a bit of a task
and work deadlines a bit of an ask
but accepting it all – I’ve drawn not won
and doing volunteering has been fun!

I learned new ways of learning, and some of its took’
now scribbling notes in a bright red notebook
recovery’s coming, but i’ll take in the tips
as this memory thing, i start to get grips.

So i’ll take my time, till the pieces fit
writing my poems , and volunteering a bit
learning new things, wi others to do
leaving mi’ worries and having fun too

Author: inkdropk

Born and Bred in Salford, England - I live a short distance from Old Trafford - Home to Manchester United Football Club. I volunteer at Sale Harriers athletic club and at Imperial War Museum North - where i help as a guide to visitors in the galleries. A blogger, photographer, volunteer and occasional writer.

5 thoughts on “Broken Biscuits & Jigsaw Puzzles”

  1. Put a “like” , but I really “loved” this piece of yours .
    And I am humbled by amazing people like you who have to work and go through way more steps than the average person to achieve the same , while others and I’m including myself are whiners and detour or give up at the slightest difficulty .
    Turtle Hugs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

