The Russian Tank

A Stalwart of the Russian Army in World War II - The T-34 was a powerful tank and had a Six man crew
A Stalwart of the Russian Army in World War II –
The T-34 was a powerful tank and had a Six man crew

Greetings , Comrade!

Have we met somewhere before?

I’m a veteran of the second world war…

You’ll recognise my number,

I’m the T-34

In my vast solid frame, worked a brave crew of five

My only aim – was to keep them alive

On Russias front, we fought ‘gainst an enemy foe

My strong tracks moved forward, and away we’d go!

My wheels drove the tracks, like cossacks of old

leaving mighty marks in the snow and the cold

Commander gave orders, and Gunners fired shells

Gunpowder and burning were familiar smells

We fought for our country, and sometimes our meals,

whilst the enemy we fought had other ideals

Their crack soldiers ran when they saw me appear

as my shells would explode wherever they were near.

But Now, i’m retired,

to a home in the west.

Educating Children, quietly

is what i do best.

One comment

Leave a Reply

